• Pendant des années, les rumeurs les plus folles ont couru sur « la Fille des marais » de Barkley Cove, une petite ville de Caroline du Nord. Pourtant, Kya n'est pas cette fille sauvage et analphabète que tous imaginent et craignent.

    A l'âge de dix ans, abandonnée par sa famille, elle doit apprendre à survivre seule dans le marais, devenu pour elle un refuge naturel et une protection. Sa rencontre avec Tate, un jeune homme doux et cultivé qui lui apprend à lire et à écrire, lui fait découvrir la science et la poésie, transforme la jeune fille à jamais. Mais Tate, appelé par ses études, l'abandonne à son tour.

    La solitude devient si pesante que Kya ne se méfie pas assez de celui qui va bientôt croiser son chemin et lui promettre une autre vie.

    Lorsque l'irréparable se produit, elle ne peut plus compter que sur elle-même...

  • WHERE THE CRAWDADS SING

    Delia Owens

    #1 New York Times Bestseller A Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club Pick "I can't even express how much I love this book! I didn't want this story to end!"--Reese Witherspoon "Painfully beautiful."-- The New York Times Book Review "Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver."-- Bustle For years, rumors of the "Marsh Girl" have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not what they say. Sensitive and intelligent, she has survived for years alone in the marsh that she calls home, finding friends in the gulls and lessons in the sand. Then the time comes when she yearns to be touched and loved. When two young men from town become intrigued by her wild beauty, Kya opens herself to a new life--until the unthinkable happens. Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver and Karen Russell, Where the Crawdads Sing is at once an exquisite ode to the natural world, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story, and a surprising tale of possible murder. Owens reminds us that we are forever shaped by the children we once were, and that we are all subject to the beautiful and violent secrets that nature keeps.

  • A lush debut novel , Owens delivers her mystery wrapped in gorgeous, lyrical prose . It's clear she's from this place-the land of the southern coasts, but also the emotional terrain- you can feel it in the pages . A magnificent achievement, ambitious, credible and very timely

  • CRY OF THE KALAHARI Nouv.

    CRY OF THE KALAHARI

    ,

    • Corsair
    • 7 Octobre 2021

    ''A remarkable story beautifully told... Among such classics as Goodall''s In the Shadow of Man and Fossey''s Gorillas in the Mist '' Chicago Tribune Carrying little more than a change of clothes and a pair of binoculars, two young Americans, Mark and Delia Owens, caught a plane to Africa, bought a thirdhand Land Rover, and drove deep into the Kalahari Desert. There they lived for seven years, in an unexplored area with no roads, no people, and no source of water for thousands of square miles. In this vast wilderness the Owenses began their zoology research, working along animals that had never before been exposed to humans. An international bestseller on original release, Cry of the Kalahari is the story of the Owenses''s life with lions, brown hyenas, jackals, giraffes, and the many other creatures they came to know. It is also a gripping account of how they survived the dangers of living in one of the last and largest pristine areas on Earth.

empty